Skip to content Skip to navigation

2014 Program Overview

Download Full Conference Program

For 14th annual conference we are planning a conference to remember. It will include:

  • 2 pre-conference workshops for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and new scholars
  • 12 keynote and plenary speakers
  • 3 keynote speakers (Sara Ahmed, Glen Sean Coulthard, Audra Simpson)
  • 4 plenary sessions 
  • Conference papers and panel sessions
  • Book launch to celebrate authors and editors
  • Professional networking opportunities
  • Networking for social activism and social change
  • Receptions and opportunities to have some fun!


Keynotes and Plenary Speakers

  • Sara Ahmed, Professor of Race and Cultural Studies, Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Caleb Zabdi Behn is Eh-Cho Dene and Dunne Za/Cree (Treaty 8) from northern BC. He holds a JD from UVic with a concentration is Environmental Law and Sustainability.
  • Sirma Bilge is Associate Professor, Sociology, Université de Montréal, founding director of the Intersectionality Research Unit at the Centre des études ethniques des universités montréalaises (CEETUM) from 2005 to 2010.
  • Maria Campbell, Elder in Residence, Athabasca University and Trudeau Foundation Mentor and Fellow
  • Karma R. Chávez is an Assistant Professor, Communications and Chicana and Latina Studies Program, University of Wisconsin
  • Glen Sean Coulthard is an Assistant Professor in First Nations and Political Science at the University of British Columbia
  • Jessica Danforth  is the founder and Executive Director of the Native Youth Sexual Health Network, Youth Coordinator for the National Indigenous Youth Council on HIV/AIDS, and former Co-Chair for the North American region for the Global Indigenous Youth Caucus at the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.
  • Jin Haritaworn is an Assistant Professor Gender, Race and Environment at York University in Toronto
  • Kiera Ladner is Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Politics and Governance and an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Studies at the University of Manitoba
  • Tracey Lindberg is Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Traditional Knowledge, Legal Orders and Law, and Associate Professor in the Centre for World Indigenous Knowledge & Research (CWIKR) at Athabasca University.
  • Sherene Razack is a Professor of Social Justice Education, University of Toronto
  • Audra Simpson  is Mohawk, Canadian and American, and an Assistant Professor, Anthropology, Columbia University
  • Leanne Betasamosake Simpson is a writer, storyteller, educator and activist, and citizen of the Nishnaabeg nation.
  • Sunera Thobani is an Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies, University of British Columbia
  • Rinaldo Walcott is an Associate Professor, Social Justice Education, University of Toronto
  • Gisèle Yasmeen is the former Vice-President Research at the Social Science and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) of Canada.